Wk 5 – Activity – Ethnography

The activity for week 5 is to spend an evening without electronics. I decided to begin my activity on Saturday night at 5 pm in my apartment. At this time in the evening, the sun is still up but already beginning to set. So the activity I chose to do is to create a Zine that I have been thinking about. As some may rarely know, a Zine is a small circulation of self-published work of original or appropriated texts and images usually reproduce via photocopier. The Zine that I am drafting up is titled “8 Weeks” and is going to discuss the money I have spent in the months of August and September. It originally began as a joke with my friends, but as weeks passed within August and September coming to an end, I felt like it should be done. To add to the origin of this story is that within those 8 weeks, my friends and I have done a lot of traveling. We went to places such as, Seattle, Portland, and Sacramento. Traveling and spending money technically go hand-in-hand. So as we ventured to each place, our wallets were getting thinner and thinner. It got to the point where we felt like we had a problem, and my outlet to the situation is to create this zine.

I began with creating the title of “8 Weeks” on white printer paper. I then gathered a stack of printer paper and folded it into a book. I began writing down a little summary of what my zine is about. From there, I alternated from drawing images and little memoirs on each page. As the sun disappeared from the sky, my apartment was completely dark, and light from the outside was only visible. I stopped writing/ drawing up my zine and went to my living room and played with my pet cat. It was not to long until I fell asleep and woke up the next day. This is how my evening without electricity went.

Rough draft of "8 Weeks" cover.
Rough draft of “8 Weeks” cover.
Leave a Reply

