Wk 11 – Activity – Fiber Art

The wall hanger I created is composed of an old white t-shirt and a clothes hanger as the foundation to hold my work. I began by cutting my shirt into long strips. After, I took three strips and weaved them into one lock. I did this twice. The last strip is made of strips of my shirt, but the longest. After each lock was made I tied it to the hanger. Overall, I did not like how my hanger came out. It was a little frustrating weaving the strips, because I just learned how to do it. I watched a Youtube video to accomplish the weaving portion. This activity did not really change my perspective of the use fiber in my life. I do appreciate those who create elaborate pieces though. It definitely takes a steady hand and patience.

Step 1.
Step 1.
Step 2.
Step 2.
Step 3.
Step 3.
Step 4.
Step 4.
A closer look at the weaving I've done
A closer look at the weaving I’ve done
Leave a Reply

